Discovering the classic tango’s

When I started dancing tango, seven or more years ago, I liked to dance most of all to Piazzolla‘s and non-tango music like Cirque du soleil with Querer and Vai Vedrai or Loreena Mckennitt’s Tango To Evora. I didn’t like that “old stuff” so much.
Later on Pugliese became my favorite dance music. I was still always dancing with an open embrace then.

Over time my dancing got better and more confident and I started going to milonga’s with more advanced dancers. Some women there automatically put themselves in close embrace and I had no choice but to dance like that. It was really difficult in the beginning, I was forced to dance only simple steps and I started putting more feeling into the dance to make it more interesting. I still tried to switch a lot between open and close embrace within the same song, depending on the music. Di Sarli became my favorite.
I soon enough got the hang of it and I started to prefer close embrace tango. With it came a shift in musical preference.
The “old stuff” suddenly became interesting and good music. At first mainly the romantic music like Caló with Berón or Di Sarli with his singers. Then gradually I got into the more rhythmic music beginning with Tanturi/Castillo. And now I’m going further in my discovery while I’m dancing to all the old rhythmic stuff, trying to improve my dancing more in a milonguero style, trying to dance in the music.

At the same time I still enjoy Pugliese and Di Sarli of course. And although I got bored with the non-tango’s I do like some electronic tango as well. Narcotango is definitely my favorite there.

I enjoy the evolution and the musical discovery and you will be able to follow it through this blog and on my tango music page where I illustrate the orchestra’s with music from TodoTango.com that I put into play lists for an easier listening experience.
I recently concentrated on getting to know D’Arienzo better. I updated the D’Arienzo section on my music page with D’Arienzo/Echagüe.
I think that next I will concentrate on either Canaro or Troílo, Biagi will probably come after that.

3 Responses to “Discovering the classic tango’s”

  1. Peter C. Says:

    I think this is the evolution of every tanguero…
    I can tell you the same story (with even the same music), other tangueros told me also “the same story”…
    Could it be that by asking a person what music he prefers, you can tell how experienced he is as a dancer?
    And what about the women? Do they have the same evolution….

  2. petere Says:

    Nice to hear that I’m not the only one with the same evolution, although I was already pretty sure that I wasn’t.
    Interesting question about the women, I have the impression that they have a somewhat different or maybe faster evolution. In general they need less time to become reasonably good followers anyway.
    Are there any tangueras who want to comment on that?

  3. Discovering the classic tango’s: Lomuto « My Weblog Says:

    […] the classic tango’s: Lomuto I in my previous “discovering” post I said that I was probably going to look more into Francisco Canaro. But when I went through my […]

Leave a Reply

